VACAYA OASIS @ HYATT ZIVA
OCTOBER 30-NOVEMBER 6, 2021

Our journey to Mexico begins in:

days
3
2
hours
0
1
minutes
5
1
seconds
2
1

 

Oasis is fun, luxurious, sporty, easy, relaxed, unscripted, indulgent, balanced, adventurous

The Vacayans are hard at work planning each and every detail of our 2021 Mexico Resort vacation. We’ll have lots to share with you as everything comes together. You’ll find that information here.

We’ll also house an email archive on this page, too. This archive will feature all the trip-specific communications we have with you throughout your pre-resort experience with us. That way, if you happen to lose a general email somewhere along the way, you’ll be able to find it right here.

VACAYA’s mission is to give you everything you need with plenty of time to ensure a totally stress-free experience. Get ready for your vacaya!

Many people ask us “what will the VACAYA Oasis experience be like?” VACAYA Oasis is certainly more laid back than our large-ship cruises, perfect for those seeking fun, relaxation, adventure, and romance.

The VACAYA Oasis rhythm is… Relaxed. Easy. Fun. Balanced. Luxurious. Indulgent. Sporty. Unscripted. Adventurous.


 

PAGE DIRECTORY

GENERAL NOTE

We are so excited about our fortuitous upgrade to the new Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun. The resort has now officially opened and they’re slated to have all facilities at 100% by October 15.

Now that the resort is open, information is coming to us fast and furiously and we’ll continue putting it all here as it comes.

As you recently saw, we have sold all 394 rooms available to us at the resort. So if you have any friends looking to join, they can email us at info@myvacaya.com to be placed on the waitlist and we’ll be happy to reach out to them if/when anything opens up.

We’ll see you soon!

– The Vacayans

 

PS – If you’re making your way to the resort on your own (as opposed to through our transfer service), please please PLEASE don’t get our resort confused with sister property Hyatt Ziva Cancun. The address of our resort is:

Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun
Bahia De Petempich SM 12 Lot 14
Puerto Morelos, 77580 MX

AIRLINE DISCOUNTS

As a VACAYA guest, special airfare discounts are available to you for flights to/from Cancun (CUN) on Delta Air Lines, Delta Connection, and codeshare flights with Delta partners (must be Delta designated). The discounts are as follows:

For US and Canada flights to/from Reykjavík:

  • Receive 10% off F, J, C, D, Y, P, and I class tickets
  • Receive 5% off B, M, H, Q, K, and L class tickets
  • Receive 2% off U, T, V, and X class tickets

International flights, not including Asia/Australia:

  • Receive 10% off J, C, D, W, Y, B, and M class tickets
  • Receive 5% off I, Z, H, Q, K, L, and U class tickets
  • Receive 3% off T class tickets

International Transpacific flights from Asia/Australia:

  • Receive 20% off J, C, W, and Y class tickets
  • Receive 10% off D, I, B, M, H, Q, and K class tickets
  • Receive 5% off Z, L, U, and T class tickets
  • Receive 3% off X and V class tickets

International Transpacific flights from Tokyo’s Haneda Airport (HND):

  • Receive 25% off J, C, W, and Y class tickets
  • Receive 15% off D, I, B, M, H, Q, and K class tickets
  • Receive 10% off Z, L, U, and T class tickets
  • Receive 8% off X and V class tickets

To make an online reservation with Delta, click BOOK NOW just below:

You can also call Delta at 800.328.1111 (Monday-Friday, 7am-7:30pm Central Time). Be sure to use Meeting Code NMUKW when making your flight bookings via phone. Please note there is no ticketing charge for working with a live Delta agent to book your flights.

Discounts will be available for flights to/from Cancun, Mexico (CUN) Oct 20-Nov 16, 2021.

BOOKING EXTRA NIGHTS

If you’d like to extend your stay at Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun either before or after our week there, use these links to book your extra nights at a discount:

Pre-Event Nights (Oct 29 and earlier): BOOK PRE-EVENT NIGHTS HERE

Post-Event Nights (Nov 6 and beyond): BOOK POST-EVENT NIGHTS HERE

While Hyatt cannot guarantee you’ll be able to stay in the same room for extra pre-event nights, they will do their very best. For post-event nights, you’ll stay in the same room you have with VACAYA. Both of these circumstances are entirely dependent on you purchase of the same room type you have with VACAYA for your extra pre- or post-event nights. Purchasing a different room type than the type you have with VACAYA will ensure you’ll have to change rooms.

CABANA RENTALS

For guests who’d like to rent a cabana, you can do so at the resort. Here are your options:

ZAÁZIL PACKAGE / POOL OR BEACH (for 2 people) $69.00 USD

Includes: Private Cabana from 9am – 6pm, Pool Butler Service, Refreshing Spray, Cucumber for Eyes, Special Menu, 2 Welcome Drinks (Coconuts)

 

IKAL PACKAGE / POOL OR BEACH (for 2 people) $89.00 USD

Includes: Private Cabana from 9am – 6pm, Pool Butler Service, Refreshing Spray, Cucumber for Eyes, Special Menu, 2 Welcome Drinks (Coconuts), 10 Minutes of Spa Happening, 1 Bottle of Sparkling Wine

 

IZAMAL PACKAGE / POOL OR BEACH (for 2 people) $219.00 USD

Includes: Private Cabana from 9am – 6pm, Pool Butler Service, Refreshing Spray, Cucumber for Eyes, Special Menu, 2 Welcome Drinks (Coconuts), 10 Minutes of Spa Happening, 1 Bottle of Moët & Chandon, and 2 Lobsters

 

ATTENTION BREEZE GUESTS:
Your Breeze package includes a half-day cabana rental per room. You’ll reserve your half-day slot upon check-in.

CHECKING IN

At check in, you’ll need your Passport, your Vax Card (or photo or e-record of your Vax Card), and a credit card for incidentals (like spa, etc.). You’ll also complete a Health Questionnaire, which is where you’ll purchase Hyatt’s Extended Stay Protection Plan. Please note there are a few minor differences in the Plan from what we were originally told, but it’s an incredible bargain none-the-less.

The Health Questionnaire is relatively lengthy, so to keep check in quick, easy, and moving along, we ask that you review it in advance. That way, all you’ll need to do at check in is sign it and indicate whether or not you’d like to purchase the Extended Stay Protection Plan.

 

REVIEW REQUIRED HEALTH QUESTIONNAIRE

 

If you test positive for Covid at the end of your stay, Hyatt’s Extended Stay Protection Plan is THE way to limit your out-of-pocket expenses. We strongly encourage ALL GUESTS to secure this affordable peace of mind at check in. At $29 per person (plus tax), it’s a tremendous bargain. Here are the details:

  • Up To 14-Day Stay At No Additional Cost, including room and board
  • Extended Stay Protection may only be purchased until midnight on the day of arrival/check-in.
  • To qualify for Extended Stay Protection, all guests staying in the same room must purchase the plan.
  • Extended Stay Protection purchase is non-refundable, even if you’re not required to quarantine.
  • Extended Stay Protection excludes any incidental charges or additional costs incurred as a result of delayed departure.
CLOTHING OPTIONAL POOL

VACAYA will offer a clothing optional pool. When moving outside of this area, we ask that you please put your swimsuit back on. Our hosts have been very gracious in allowing us to provide this clothing optional pool to our guests, so we want to be as respectful as we can be in regard to the guidelines they’ve established. So thank you in advance for your cooperation.

And obviously… cameras should not be used in this area.

As a reminder to everyone coming to the resort earlier than Oct 30… our designated clothing optional pool is NOT clothing optional until October 31. With the resort’s guests from the week prior still able to use the facilities on Oct 30 (until their transfers take them away), we ask that you please stay clothed when using this pool. Also, the pool will not be clothing optional on November 6 (as future guests begin to arrive).

CURRENCY

Although US Dollars are widely accepted around Mexico, there are some businesses that will only take Mexican Pesos.

If you decide to purchase Mexican Pesos, the current exchange rate is:

1 USD = 20.2 MXN

For the latest exchange rates, we recommend https://www.xe.com.

DAY 1 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 2 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 3 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 4 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 5 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 6 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 7 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DAY 8 SCHEDULE

Coming soon!

DINING AT HYATT ZIVA

Dining will certainly be a treat for you at Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun. With so many options available, you might find it a bit challenging to actually experience them all. So best of luck and happy eating!

 

Case Del Cafe Coffeehouse

Open Daily from 6am-10pm

 

Roots Health Bar (extra charge)

Open Daily 6am-5pm

 

The Corner Poolside Snacks

Open Daily 11am-7pm

 

Afthonia Buffet

Breakfast – 7am-11:30am
Lunch 1pm-4pm
Dinner 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

La Parrilla (Grill & Steaks for Dinner)

Breakfast – 7am-10:30am
Lunch – 11:30am-3:30pm
Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Balik (Seafood for Dinner)

Breakfast – 7am-10:30am
Lunch – 11:30am-3:30pm
Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Rue De Rivoli (French)

Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Vivace (Italian)

Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Ki (Mexican)

Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Miyako (Asian)

Dinner – 5:30pm-9:30pm

 

Each of Hyatt Ziva’s restaurants are sizable and can accommodate a large number of guests. Reservations are NOT required, but they will be available if you’d prefer to have a guaranteed seat at a specific time. Advance reservations can be made by Breeze guests starting October 1 (instructions will be emailed to you). All other reservations by non-Breeze guests can be made once at the resort.

Please note that VACAYA Showtime will be at 9pm most nights. You’ll want to allow up to 90 minutes before the start of the show to complete your meal. That puts the peak time from 7pm-7:30pm for each restaurant. The restaurants open for dinner at 5:30pm, so to avoid disappointment at peak times, we recommend you consider eating just a bit earlier or making an advance reservation. And remember… there’s always the quicker buffet option (and it’s DELISH!) at Afthonia.

DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS

With the exception of Mexican citizens, all travelers must have a valid passport to travel to Mexico via air.

Visas are not required for US Citizens, but may be required of other nationalities. You can check the official visa requirements/instructions for Mexico HERE. It is the responsibility of each traveler to have the proper travel documents.

When arriving at CUN Airport, you will go through Mexican Immigration and Customs. After collecting your luggage in the Arrivals Hall, make your way to the Customs queue. Mexican Customs officials scan all bags as they leave the Arrivals Hall and some are randomly selected for further inspection. You’ll be asked to press a button that lights up either green or red to determine whether you’ll be randomly selected. Green means “you’re free to exit without inspection.” Red means “you’ve been selected for further inspection.” If selected for further inspection, simply follow the instructions of the officials as they do a hand inspection of your luggage.

After exiting the Customs area, you will go through an area known as “The Gauntlet,” where hoteliers, tour operators, and car services attempt to sell you their products. No need to stop here. Just smile and keep walking toward the exit doors. Once you exit the building, you’ll meet your transfer driver just outside (more specific details will come later).

EMAIL ARCHIVE

All emails to our Booked Guests will be available here.

August 21, 2021 – Entertainment Preview plus insurance and protocols

July 29, 2021 – Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun Extra Pre/Post Nights Ready for booking!

July 7, 2021 – Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun Extra Pre/Post Nights – Not quite ready yet

May 27, 2021 – Panama Jack Playa del Carmen changes to Hyatt Ziva Riviera Cancun

June 2, 2021 – Extra Nights Query

July 1, 2021 – Party Themes Announced at 120 Days Out!

July 7, 2021 – Extra Nights Information

August 21, 2021 – Entertainment Preview & Other Important Bits

September 15, 2021 – Requesting T-Shirt sizes from those for whom we don’t info

ENTERTAINMENT PREVIEW

We’re so excited to welcome the following entertainers to our 2021 Mexico Resort. To read more about them, simply click on their photo.

We encourage all of our guests to follow our entertainers on all the various social channels. Their social handles can be found in the lower right-hand corner of each artist’s photo.

EXCURSIONS

You’ll have an opportunity to book excursions in advance of your holiday. Breeze guests will book first, followed a week later by all other guests. If you’d like to preview the available adventures, simply click on this big pink button:

EXPLORE AVAILABLE EXCURSIONS

FLYING TO MEXICO

Mexico requires all travelers to complete a Travel Health Questionnaire within 12 hours before your flight to Cancun Airport. You can do that entirely online HERE.

FRIENDS OF BILL W

There will be daily meetings for our Friends of Bill W. The meetups will take place at 10am each day in the Conference Center starting October 31 and continuing through November 6. Be sure to grab a coffee at Casa Del Cafe before heading in to the meeting.

MEXICO EXIT TAX

The State of Quintana Roo, Mexico (where our resort is located) has just recently implemented an “Exit Tax” for all foreign visitors. The tax is 224 Mexican Pesos and should be paid online in advance of flying from Cancun Airport. You can do that HERE. Please note that it takes just a bit of time for this government webpage to open.

PARTY THEMES

It’s July 1 – 120 days before our adventure together – and here are your Party Themes! Costumes are never required, but they certainly add immensely to the festivities. Of course, you’ll be welcome in or out of costume.

 

Saturday, October 30 (10pm-12am) – “This Is Me” Welcome Cocktail Party

It’s Night 1 and we want to know who you are and where you’re from. So give us a little hometown realness as we all come together for the very first time!

 


 

Sunday, October 31 – Wicked Halloween Costume Parade (9pm) & Party (10pm-1am)

The evening will start with our Wicked “Scary Movies” Costume Parade. Let the world of horror cinema guide your costume. The Wicked winner will take home the coveted “Zzolo Award” (we’ll explain its origins at the event) and a $500 future VACAYA trip credit! Your judges will be looking at your charisma, uniqueness, nerve, and embrace of the theme. After the parade, we’ll dance the night away with tricks and treats!

 


 

Monday, November 1 (4-7pm) – Elementos V-Dance

It’s Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead)! Today, the border between the spirit world and the real world dissolves. Our V-Dance celebrates the four foundational elements of this magical day – fire, water, earth, and air. So whether you choose a more traditional costume or a super sexy take on it, let the elements guide you across the Chinvat Bridge.

 


 

Tuesday, November 2 (10pm-1am) – Celebración Blanca

We were all shocked by the recent death of White Party Impresario Jeffrey Sanker. Jeffrey’s life was viewed by our community in extremes. Some people loved him, while others… not so much. But in death, we have to recognize his unbelievable contributions to the circuit scene. In honor of Jeffrey’s groundbreaking work, VACAYA has designated November 2 as “Jeffrey Sanker Day.” The night’s set will be spun by VACAYA DJ Chord Bezerra in tribute to Jeffrey and white will be worn both day and night in his honor.

 


 

Wednesday, November 3 (4-7pm) – Double the Fun V-Dance

Today, we’re TWINS-ing! So duplicate your efforts with your partner or bestie! Traveling solo? No worries. You’re not alone. Combine forces with another solo traveler pre-trip by finding a Double-the-Fun Twin on our OFFICIAL FACEBOOK EVENT PAGE and get ready for this afternoon of doppelganger fun in the sun!

 


 

Wednesday, November 3 (10pm-1am) – Moat Party @ The Strip, powered by JustFor.Fans

Turn up the heat as our friends at JustFor.Fans host tonight’s Moat Party @ The Strip! Head to the clothing optional pool near Buildings 10 & 11 and join in all the striptacular fun! For the Wonder Women of VACAYA, Jo, Jen, Julie, and Alysse will be welcoming you to the “Isle of Lesbos” from 10pm-1am tonight at the Building 8 Pool. Bring a towel!

 


 

Thursday, November 4 (10pm-1am) – Less Is More

Enough said. But yes… you do have to cover your twigs and berries, gentlemen, and your vajayjays, ladies, but that’s all.

 


 

Friday, November 5 (4-7pm) – “The Big D” V

It’s time to Dive in to that Dictionary of yours for our signature final Letter Party! This year, we’re taking on Resort Director Danny’s favorite letter! Danny Dwells in Dallas, so be Daring, Dashing, Dapper, Dangerous, Delightful, Deep, Demonic, Distinct, or Desirously inspired by all things D.

 

Our parties will be a mix of indoor and outdoor events, so they’re weather dependent and are subject to change/cancellation.

SAFETY PROTOCOLS

IMPORTANT NOTE: PROTOCOLS ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE AT ANY TIME

ALL GUESTS are required to be vaccinated for this event. At check in, you’ll be required to show your physical Vax Card, a photo of your Vax Card, or an e-record of your vaccination. Without this, unfortunately, you’ll be unable to check in and no refund will be offered. This is black and white; there’ll be no negotiating on this topic.

Standard indoor masking protocols – very similar to what we’ve all grown accustomed to – are in effect. When moving around the indoor public spaces, please mask up. When heading to the restaurants, please mask up. Once you’re seated and eating/drinking, you can de-mask, of course.

Masks will be required of all guests inside the VACAYA Theater. For our Wicked Costume Contest inside the theater on Halloween, participants may de-mask just before going up on stage. Once you leave the stage, please re-mask.

Masks are NOT required at any of the outdoor venues, but if you’d prefer to wear your mask at all times, that’s entirely up to you. No one will judge you for taking that extra personal care.

The great majority of our parties will take place near the beach at an open-air venue called Habaneros or at the outdoor pool on The Strip. Masks are not required at these venues.

The rest of our parties will take place in Infusions Bar, which is an indoor space that’s open to the outside on all sides. With the constant sea breezes, this creates a cross flow that keeps the air moving throughout the venue. So we will not require masks inside Infusions during our parties. There are a few exceptions, though: masks are required when moving from the area (for example, when going to the bathrooms down the hall) and when ordering drinks face-to-face from the bartenders/waiters. Side note: it’s a respectful and appreciated choice to mask up when encountering ANY employee face-to-face, no matter the location/situation.

100% of the resort’s employees have had at least 1 vaccine shot, and as of September 24, 80% have received both shots. Mexico’s national mandate to vaccinate its citizens is much more organized and regimented than what we’ve experienced in the US. As of now, all citizens who are 30-39 are receiving their second shot. Next up will be those age 20-29.

Please note that we may adjust these protocols at any time based on shifting science, observations, and overall adherence to the policies. Ultimately, we’re all adults here and we simply ask that you respect the protocols so we can avoid conflict. The Vacayans will always be respectful in reminding you to mask up when it inadvertently slips your mind, but if you throw even the tiniest bit of shade, that will be noted. Repeated offenses will likely lead to your expulsion from the event. Our Code of Conduct policies allow us to remove any guest who repeatedly violates protocols putting themselves and others in danger. #BeNiceAlways

After this crazy last year and a half where we’ve all been pushed further than any of us could have ever imagined, let’s just all treat each other with kindness and respect as we adjust to life in our new normal. Gracias. #AdaptToLive #YouGotThis

SOLO TRAVELER EVENTS

There will be daily events for our STEP Participants and other Solo Travelers. While you’re always welcome to eat alone or join non-solo travelers, we’ll have a Solo Travelers Table available to you every night. This dedicated table will rotate through the resort’s restaurants, according to the following schedule:

Saturday, October 30

6pm – STEP & Solo Travelers Pre-Dinner Cocktails @ Off Court Bar
7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Afthonia (Mediterranean Buffet)

 

Sunday, October 31

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Ki (Mexican)

 

Monday, November 1

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Rue De Rivoli (French)

 

Tuesday, November 2

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Vivace (Italian)

 

Wednesday, November 3

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Miyako (Asian)

 

Thursday, November 4

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at La Parrilla (Grill & Steaks)

 

Friday, November 5

7pm – Solo Travelers Table Available at Balik (Seafood)

 

You do not need to reserve a spot for these meetups. To ensure smooth ordering and dining flow, however, we ask that you please be seated by 7:10pm when joining our Solo Travelers Tables.

SPA

Hyatt Ziva’s Zen Spa is the PERFECT way to get rid of all that stress that’s been building up over this past year and half (and beyond). From full-body deep tissue massages to manicures and haircuts, the therapists and specialists at Zen Spa are ready to help you wash those cares away.

VACAYA Breeze guests will have first shot at making Spa Appointments around October 1. Non-Breeze guests will be able to book in advance and we’re estimating that will be available to you around October 20.

EXPLORE SPA SERVICES

TRANSFERS

We’ll provide transfer instructions for Breeze guests on October 1 and for non-Breeze guests on October 8. You’ll be able to purchase your transfers online through VACAYA’s ground transportation company, AmStar.

VACAYA BREEZE

For a look at all the inclusions and benefits of VACAYA Breeze, visit HERE.

VACAYA Breeze guests will received all of their advance booking instructions from us via email on October 1.

WATER

While the tap water at the resort is perfectly fine for showering, bathing, and brushing your teeth, it’s recommended that you drink bottled water both while on property and off. Bottled water is abundantly available around the resort.

WATERSPORTS

The hotel’s beach offers beautiful snorkeling just off shore. However, because of safety protocols, snorkel gear isn’t available at the resort. So if you’d like to snorkel, be sure to bring your own gear.

Please also note that the beach will close at 6pm on the evenings of Oct 30 and 31. These are the final two days of turtle mating season. The beach will be accessible 24×7 starting Nov 1.

WEATHER

Seasonal norms for October and November show consistent highs of around 89°F / 31.6°C and a consistent low of around 79°F / 26.1°C each night.

WHAT TO WEAR

The resort is nice comfy casual at all times. Swimsuits/shorts and Ts/tanks are perfect during the day. And nice shorts/jeans/pants and a collared shirt are perfect resort wear during the evening. Nice T-shirts are also ok. The restaurants are beautiful spaces and you’ll see they warrant just a bit of style. As a general guideline, we ask that tank tops not be worn in the restaurants during dinner.

And we’ll say it again here (because it’s that important)… when moving away from the Clothing Optional Pool, please cover yourself.